Amazon rainforest


“As the third post in our series about rainforests, we bring to you today some facts about Amazon Rainforests which are the largest Rainforests across the world.

The Amazon is a vast region that spans across eight rapidly developing countries: Brazil, Bolivia, Peru, Ecuador, Colombia, Venezuela, Guyana, Suriname and French Guiana.
The landscape contains:

– One in ten known species on Earth

– 1.4 billion acres of dense forests, half of the planet’s remaining tropical forests

– 4,100 miles of winding rivers

– 2.6 million square miles in the Amazon basin, about 40 percent of South America

Source: WWF”